VIRology LAB

DESCRIPTION

Since the establishment of Centre of Excellence in Molecular Biology, Virology group has played a vital role in the betterment of society on various platforms. Biotechnology is developed in response to society’s needs and demands at that particular time. Keeping in view the need of the time we started working on various aspects of health sciences. The last several years have witnessed the beginning of a major change in the health sector particularly diagnostics in Pakistan.

Viral Infectious disease outbreaks like dengue, HIV, chikungunya, Zika, Adenovirus induced conjunctivitis, Hepatitis and yellow fever is common in developing countries including Pakistan. Virology group is playing a key role in progressing the awareness, treatment and management of these diseases. Our work relates to following main themes

    • Establishment of assays/methods to study viruses
    • Viral Genome characterization, variability, Genotyping/ Serotyping
    • Studies on viral genes/proteins and their role in disease outcome
    • Virus Prevalence and Molecular Epidemiology
    • Anti-viral therapy and role of various viral & host factors in treatment response

Virology group is also trying to lay the foundation for the development of an effective therapeutic vaccine for HPV, Dengue, and HIV. C Centre of Excellence in Molecular Biology is trying to make a link between academia and industry for the commercialization of indigenously made detection kits for HCV, HBV, TB, Zika, HPV, Dengue, and Coronavirus. Our unanimous goal is the development and progress of Biological Sciences both on national and international level.

KEY AREAS

Emerging Viruses, Viral-Host Interactions, Epidemiology, Viral Pathogenesis, Vaccine Development, Antiviral Therapy, Viral Evolution, Diagnostic Techniques, Impact of Viruses on Public Health.

LIST OF RESEARCH PROJECTS

  1. Robust production of recombinant collagen & elastin proteins in serum-free adapted 293T cell line using Ubiquitinous Chromatin opening elements containing lentiviral vectors
  2. Methylation Profile analysis of different Phosphodiesterases Gene in Hepatitis C Virus-Induced Diabetic Patients
  3. Production of Onco-Viral Peptide-Based Therapeutic Vaccine Candidates against Human Papillomavirus type 16
  4. Active research going on CRISPR/Cas13-Mediated Targeting of Hepatitis C Virus RNA in liver cell lines
  5. Production of Collagen (through UCOE containing lentiviral vector) for therapeutic and cosmetic purposes
  6. Development of antigen-based therapeutic vaccine against prevalent serotypes of Dengue Virus
  7. Identification of host genes expression in response to hepatitis C virus infection and therapeutic response
  8. Polymorphisms in interferon-induced genes and their impact on immune changes: An approach to predict the treatment outcome in Hepatitis C Virus-infected patients.
  9. Identification and comprehensive analysis of competing endogenous RNA networks in human immunodeficiency virus infection and treatment responses”

ACADEMIC AND RESEARCH LINKAGES ESTABLISHED

  • University of Sydney 

  • Institute for Advanced Biosciences, University Grenoble Alpes.

  • Queen Marry University, London

  • Centre for Virus Research, University of Glasgow, Scottland.

  • Department Gastroenterology and Hepatology – Erasmus MC Rotterdam Netherlands

  • Abu Academia University Finland.

  • CDC, Division of viral hepatitis, USA.

  • Rice University

SERVICES OFFERED

Group picture

Group Composition

Prof. Dr. M Idrees            idreeskhan@cemb.edu.pk
Dr. Shazia Rafique          shazia.rafique@cemb.edu.pk
Dr. Samia Afzal               samia.afzal@cemb.edu.pk
Dr. Muhammad Shahid    muhammad.shahid@cemb.edu.pk
Dr. Iram Amin                   iram.amin@cemb.edu.pk                    

Noureen Zahra        noureen.zahra@cemb.edu.com
Khadeeja Zahid       khadijazahid03@gmail.com
Ayesha Akram         ayshakram04@gmail.com
Tayyaba Nisar         tayyabanisar247@gmail.com
Mahnoor Fatima     mahnoor.fatima@cemb.edu.pk
Momina Afzal          afzalmomina2@gmail.com
Komal Saleem        komalsaleem12@gmail.com